Emerald Studies in Media and Communications

Media Soc Symposium 2020

Friday August 7, 2020 at UC Berkeley

Deadline for submissions: April 1, 2020
Notification: May 1, 2020
Registration Due for Participants: July 1, 2020
Registration is free for CITAMS members

The 2020 Media Sociology Symposium will be held at UC Berkeley this August 7th sponsored by the UC Berkeley ISSI, Emerald Studies in Media and Communications, and CITAMS in tandem with the ASA and AEJMC meetings in San Francisco.

This year’s keynote is David Bamman at the UC Berkeley I School. In addition, the event will feature the CITAMS’s Chair’s Panel: Work @ a Crossroads: Opportunities, Challenges & Inequalities of Digital Work organized by Anabel Quan-Haase and Christo Sims with panelists TL Taylor, Lilly Irani, Christoph Lutz, Gemma Newlands, and Alex Miltsov.

Submissions are due April 1st and are welcome on any topic related to media, technology, and society. Registration is free to all current CITAMS members. Registration for non-CITAMS members is $35.

To submit individual research presentations, provide the following information: title of the research, name(s) and email address(es) of all author(s), short abstract (approx. 200-500 words), and 3-5 key words. Submit individual research presentations on the individual submission form HERE.

To submit a panel proposal of 4-6 thematically linked presentations, provide the following information: title of panel, all names and email addresses of corresponding organizer(s) and moderator(s), short abstract on value of panel (200-600 words), and 3-5 key words for the entire panel. In addition, for each presentation in the panel, provide: title of research, author’s name, and author’s email address , and a short abstract (200-500 approx.). Submit panel proposals on the panel submission form HERE.

Questions? Please email: mediasociologysymposium@gmail.com

We look forward to seeing you in Berkeley this August!

2020 Organizing Committee Members (in alphabetical order): Wenhong Chen, Ken Kambara, Laura Robinson, Jeremy Schulz, Ian Sheinheit, & Julie Wiest